DC Swearing-In Ceremony of Elected Officials


The Council of the District of Columbia conducted the Swearing-In Ceremony for the State Board of Education, Statehood Representatives, and Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners (ANC) on January 2, 2015 at the Washington Convention Center.  Statehood Representatives, State Board of Education members, Members of the DC Council, Mayor Bowser, Congresswoman Norton, judges, and members of the clergy were all seated on stage during the ceremony.  US Senator Paul Strauss was sworn-on by the Honorable Corinne Beckwith, Associate Judge, District of Columbia Court of Appeals and US Representative Franklin Garcia was sworn-in by the Honorable José M. López, Associate Judge, Superior Court of the District of Columbia.  Members of the DC Board of Education from Wards 1, 3, 5 and 6, and ANC members were also sworn-in.  The new Mayor, Muriel Bowser, the Attorney General, and members of the DC Council were sworn-in at an earlier event also held at the Washington Convention Center.    


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here