2017 Swearing-In of US Representative Franklin Garcia


img_0578Franklin Garcia is Sworn-in as the US Representative (Shadow) for the District of Columbia. Swearing-in ceremony was held at the Washington Convention Center on January 2, 2017. Representative Garcia won reelection on November 8th, 2016 with over 80% of the votes.  He is the 8th elected Shadow Representative from the District of Columbia, since DC residents began electing Shadow Representatives in 1991.  Election of shadow members of Congress date back to 1796.  These members help US territories achieve statehood for the territory they represent.  The District of Columbia currently has two Shadow Senators, Senator Paul Strauss and Senator Michael D. Brown, and one Representative, Representative Franklin Garcia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here